Pancake day – Shrove Tuesday

This is the very first year I actually get to eat Pancakes on Shrove Tuesday! I’ve either been too busy, away or completely forgotten! It’s very exciting, but the wait is killing me. My Boyfriend wants some too, so we decided to cook them this evening.. He doesn’t get home till 6:30pm!!! Only a little longer to go! (Clock watching).

My Step-dad always says I’m uneducated. Well actually, I have GCSE’s, A-levels and a Bachelors Degree. In some cases he is right through, I don’t know a lot about History, Geography or even culture sometimes. This is a very good example, Pancake Day/Shrove Tuesday.. I honestly have no idea why it even exists! It’s great, the world gets to stuff their faces with pancakes; sweet or savoury (Sweet is better) but why?

So I decided to do a little research – I googled it. I turn to Google for everything – What did we even do without it?!

What is the meaning of Shrove Tuesday/Pancake Day?

Why do we eat pancakes on Shrove Tuesday?

Surely not to throw food around the room? Although it is acceptable today and rather fun! but because:

“Shrove Tuesday is the day that precedes Ash Wednesday . As it is determined by Easter, for which the actual date changes on an annual basis” – Taken from the Mirror website, Happy Pancake Day 2017.

I’ve learnt that Shrove Tuesday is to use up all the fatty and rich foods before Lent. It’s said to be a Christian Tradition, each ingredient representing one of the four pillars. I am not one for religion, but I am not against it either and it’s heartwarming to know that this has been going on well before my time!

So, the recipe.. We never follow one, we chuck it all in as a guessing game! Mums pancakes are the absolute best though and most of the time she doesn’t like cooking!

Usually, as a family we only have sugar and lemon on our pancakes – this year my boyfriend has brought syrup, strawberry sauce and strawberries! – healthy, but not. I tell myself that it’s balanced – keeps the fitness mind at bay.

To read more about the history of Pancake day, here is the link to the Mirror article: http://www.mirror.co.uk/social/happy-pancake-day-2017-what-9927878

What do you have on yours? Family tradition? Or are you trying something new this year? Let me know and get in touch!

Happy Pancake Day!

Leave a Reply

